NetCrunch Knowledge Base

How-tos, troubleshooting and answers about NetCrunch.

Working with maps

Applies to 7.x

The map view allows nodes to be grouped, which is very useful in the case of managing a large number of nodes. You can choose the map view graphical layout, its type, assign a node to different map views or set connection links between them.

Creating a new map
File->New->View Adding new maps is only possible in the atlas Custom Views. You may create a custom map and add/arrange nodes manually, or create filtered maps that are updated dynamically (based on user-defined filtering rules). Those maps may be located in one of several predefined map folders (eDirectory and Windows Domains) or any that were previously created by the user.
Adding a custom map
File->New->View->Blank Map You may add a blank custom map to any folder in the Custom Views section of the atlas.
Adding a dynamic view map
File->New->View->Dynamic View You may add a dynamic view map to any folder in the Custom Views section.
Defining filtering criteria
File->New->View->Dynamic View->Node Filtering You can define filtering criteria for a new dynamic map view or changing it for an already created map.
Arranging nodes in a map
Right-click the map area->Arrange Nodes or select Map properties->Appearance. For a dynamically updated map, you can configure to show nodes sorted by indicated node property/function such as device class, importance, model, OS version etc.
Creating traceroute map
File->New->View->Traceroute Map NetCrunch allows creating a map of route from the local node running the program to any desired node in the network. This task is accomplished using the standard Traceroute network tool. All nodes found in path to the destination node are automatically added to the map and will start to be monitored by the program.
Adding new map folder
File->New->Folder->Map Folder Maps folders are used to list a set of maps, which for any reason need to be put together; they fulfill a similar role to directories in a file system. Folders can be added, moved, renamed or deleted within sections of the Atlas Maps window except the Physical Segments section. Using drag and drop functionality allows moving selected maps to this folder.
Adding new dynamic folder
File->New->Folder->Dynamic Folder Dynamic folders contains automatically generated views by grouping selected nodes.
Deleting map
Right-click the selected map->Delete It is possible to delete any available map visible in a particular section, except for maps belonging to the Physical Segments section. It is recommended that you only remove maps belonging to the Custom Views section of the Atlas Maps window or copy of this map created in the Favorite Maps window. It should be remembered that maps created within the Custom Views section are only partial views of the network that was scanned (and is displayed in the IP Networks section). Particular care should be taken when removing a map from the IP Networks section. Deleting such a map will remove all its nodes. If the deleted nodes belong to any Custom Views section maps, they will be removed from there as well. Removing a whole map or section from the Favorite Maps window with using the Remove from the Favorite Maps option from the context menu does not have any effect on the source map or section in the Atlas Maps window.
Renaming map
Right-click the selected map->Rename It is possible to change the name of a map belonging to the IP Networks, Custom Views or Physical Segments section.
Moving map
Any map of the Atlas Maps window, except maps belonging to the Physical Segments section, can be moved to another location within the same section. It is performed by dragging. Therefore, dragging a whole map (with all nodes belong to it) within the section means moving (not copying) a selected map. When dragging is performed the appropriate hint is displayed with accurate information about currently performed task.
Copying map
Right-click the selected map->Copy In the Atlas Maps window the user can copy a whole map (with all nodes belong to it), to the different location, except maps belonging to the Physical Segments section. If Custom Views or Performance Views section is selected as a destination, then you can copy a map by dragging it. The Select Map Counter Wizard is opened, where proper counter must be selected.
Exporting/Importing View
Right-click the selected map->Export You can export the information presented on the particular tab of the view, selected from the Atlas Maps section. The information can be exported to a number of different file formats. The Map and Summary views allow exporting information to .BMP and .JPG files. The information presented on the rest of the tabs can be exported to .HTML, .XML or .CSV files. Please note that the exported files can only be viewed by using a software that reads the particular file formats. The exported files cannot be imported back to NetCrunch. However, the user can export the view, selected from the Atlas Maps section, to an .NCVT file. This file format is especially useful while exporting defined alerting and/or reporting rules. The *.NCVT file can be imported back to NetCrunch along with the previously exported alerting and/or reporting rules.
Creating custom layouts
Right-click the map area->Edit Map You can create custom layouts for map views. This layouts are added to the list automatically and can be accessed by all NetCrunch users. Deleting the layout removes it also from the list. You can edit map shape, alignment, add text, insert picture/background or links between nodes.
Rescanning Map
Actions->Rescan The IP Networks section maps and Custom Views section maps (belonging to the Windows Domains folder) can be quickly rescanned for new nodes. However, each IP network contains the exclusion list available from within the Map Properties window, which may contain nodes excluded from the discovery process. Therefore, before starting the discovering process for the particular IP network, please check the exclusions list.
Recreating Routing Map
Actions->Recreating Routing Map NetCrunch creates one routing map automatically. However, the user can recreate the Routing Map. This operation is used when the user created custom routing groups and wants to restore the Routing Map or when the Routing Map need to be updated. At the end of the recreating process, if any changes are discovered by NetCrunch, the Recreating Routing Map Options window is displayed. When Rearrange whole map check box is cleared it means that the previous Routing Map was arranged by the user. If this check box is left clear then NetCrunch will keep the previous layout of the Routing Map and adds only updates to it. When this check box is selected, NetCrunch will arrange all elements of the Routing Map automatically. Therefore, all previous custom arrangements will be lost.

NetCrunch. Answers not just pictures

Maps → Alerts → Automation → Intelligence