NetCrunch Knowledge Base

How-tos, troubleshooting and answers about NetCrunch.

How to delete a node from a map

Applies to 12.x 11.x 10.x

Nodes can be deleted from maps belonging to the Network Atlas window and also IP Networks, Physical Segments and Custom Views section.

Deleting nodes from the Network Atlas window.

Deleting nodes from the Network Atlas window will remove them from the Atlas.

Deleting nodes from the IP Networks and Physical Segments section.

Particular care should be taken when removing nodes from the logical maps contained in the IP Networks and Physical Segments section. It will removed nodes from these maps and also from the entire Atlas.

Deleting nodes from the Custom Views

When nodes are deleted from the map belonging to the Custom Views, the Delete Node window is opened, where you can decide whether the selected nodes should be deleted from the entire Atlas or removed only from the current view.

Exclusion list

When nodes identified by IP Address are deleted from the map belonging to IP Networks section with Automatic node rediscovery option checked, then, by default two confirmation dialogs are displayed. Specifically, pay attention to second Confirm dialog, where the program asks whether add deleted nodes to the Exclusion List.

If you select Yes, then deleted nodes will be added to the Exclusion List and next time rescanning or auto-discovery process of the IP Networks will not discover deleted nodes. In this case, you can check contents of the Exclusion List, and manually remove nodes from this list.

If you select No in the second Confirm dialog, then deleted nodes either will not be added to the Exclusion List, and if previously were included in the Exclusion List, then they will be removed from this list. In this case, deleted nodes will be discovered next time the rescanning will be performed.

Checking content of the Exclusion list:

  1. In the Network Atlas window select map from the IP Network section.
  2. Right-click to open the map context menu and select Properties item. The IP Network Map Settings window opens.
  3. Switch to the Monitoring tab and click three dots icon, next to the Exclusion list. The Network Discovery Exclusions window contains a list of nodes excluded from the auto-discovery process. You can add or remove nodes from Exclusion List by use appropriate icon from the toolbar.
To delete a node from a map:
  1. In the Main window, select nodes that you want to delete.
  2. From the Edit menu select the Delete item.

If nodes are selected from the map belonging to the IP Networks the Confirm dialog appears. If nodes are selected from the map belonging to the Custom Views section the Delete Node window opens where you can decide whether the selected nodes should be deleted from the Atlas or removed only from the current view.

Note: Adding deleted nodes to the Exclusion List causes the next rescan or auto-discovery process of the IP Networks to not discover the deleted nodes.

You can always add nodes manually to the current atlas. You can also insert the previously deleted node to the map. However, this operation does not remove this node from the Exclusion List.

It is advised to remove nodes only from the Custom Views section maps.

NetCrunch. Answers not just pictures

Maps → Alerts → Automation → Intelligence