NetCrunch Knowledge Base

How-tos, troubleshooting and answers about NetCrunch.

How to delete a node from a map (7.x-9.x)

Applies to 9.x 8.x 7.x

Nodes can be deleted from maps belonging to the Atlas Maps window and the Favorite Maps window, except nodes belonging to the Physical Segments section.

Deleting nodes from the Atlas Maps and Favorite Maps window

Deleting nodes can be done from the Atlas Maps or Favorite Maps window. Deleting nodes from the map in the Favorite Maps window will also delete them simultaneously from the source map in the Atlas Maps window.

Deleting nodes from the logical maps in the IP Network section

Particular care should be taken when removing nodes from the logical maps contained in the IP Networks section and from its copies created in the Favorite Maps window. Removed nodes will also be deleted from all other maps belonging to Atlas Maps and Favorite Maps windows.

Deleting nodes from the Custom Views

When nodes are deleted from the map belonging to the Custom Views or from its copy in the Favorite Maps window, the Delete Node window is opened, where you can decide whether the selected nodes should be permanently deleted from the entire atlas or removed from the current view and added to the exclusion list.

Exclusion list

When nodes are deleted from the map belonging to IP Networks section or from its copy in the Favorite Maps window, then, by default two confirmation dialogs are displayed. Specifically, pay attention to second Confirm dialog, where the program asks whether add deleted nodes to the Exclusion List.

If you select Yes, then deleted nodes will be added to the Exclusion List and next time rescanning or auto discovery process of the IP Networks will not discover deleted nodes. In this case, you can check contents of the Exclusion List, and manually remove nodes from this list.

If you select No in the second Confirm dialog, then deleted nodes either will not be added to the Exclusion List, and if previously were included in the Exclusion List, then they will be removed from this list. In this case, deleted nodes will be discovered next time the rescanning will be performed.

To delete a node from a map:

  1. In the Main window, select nodes that you want to delete.
  2. From the Edit menu select the Delete item or directly press DEL.

If nodes are selected from the map belonging to the Custom Views the Confirm dialog displays, where you need to decide whether to add selected nodes to the Exclusion List. If nodes are selected from the map belonging to the IP Network section the Delete Node window opens.

Checking content of the Exclusion list
  1. In the Network Atlas window select map from the IP Network section.
  2. Right-click to open the map context menu and select Properties item. The Map Properties window opens.
  3. Switch to the Monitoring tab and click three dots icon, next to the Exclusion window. The Exclusion List contains a list of nodes excluded from the auto discovery process.

You can add or remove nodes from Exclusion List by use appropriate icon from the toolbar.

Note: Adding deleted nodes to the Exclusion List causes the next rescan or auto discovery process of the IP Networks to not discover the deleted nodes.

You can always add nodes manually to the current atlas, by right-clicking on the free space of the selected map in the Main window and from the context menu point to Insert->Node. The Insert Node window opens, where you can insert the previously deleted node to the map. However, this operation does not remove this node from the Exclusion List.

It is advised to remove nodes only from the Custom Views section maps.

NetCrunch. Answers not just pictures

Maps → Alerts → Automation → Intelligence